Category Archives: NEC General

Provident Bank Presents the Creme of the Conference

NEC_Spring_Meeting_Dinner_19 (54 of 89)

NEC_Spring_Meeting_Dinner_19 (65 of 89)


The conclusion of the academic year signals a salute to those special individuals who left more than a mark on the Northeast Conference over the past 10 months.

Presented by Provident Bank, the NEC is proud to recognize the finalists for its Student-Athlete of the Year awards. The pools of ten men and ten women finalists produced the two conference-wide winners (FDU’s Evan McDonald [men] and Wagner’s Pascalle Tego [women]).

The honor recognizes individual excellence in both the academic and athletic realms as well as leadership and contributions to one’s community. Weighing one’s leadership ability, athletic prowess, academic achievement and community service, the NEC Student-Athlete of the Year award was formerly known as the NEC SAAC Student-Athlete of the Year award.  One student-athlete was honored annually from 2003 to 2014, before the award was renamed and the decision was made to recognize one male and one female student-athlete per academic year.

The 2018-19 academic year marks the fifth consecutive year that the awards program is following the amended format.


2018-19 NEC Women’s Student-Athlete of the Year Finalists (presented by Provident Bank)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


2018-19 NEC Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year Finalists (presented by Provident Bank)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One in Four ISC Qualifiers Hail from NEC

Northeast Conference athletes make up 25 percent of the field at the United States Bowling Congress’ Intercollegiate Singles Championship (ISC).

The annual tournament features a 24-player women’s bracket comprised of collegiate competitors from across America and six NEC-based bowlers have earned entry into the championship event.

Fairleigh Dickinson sophomores Aimee Sherman and Amanda Chrzanowski along with FDU alumna Karsyn Lukosius are half of the NEC’s contingent. LIU Brooklyn senior Kayla Johnson, Duquesne sophomore Olivia Farwell and Mount St. Mary’s freshman Rebecca Dodson also advanced out of regional qualifying rounds and into the ISC bracket.

Read more

CCSU Blue Devils Stab Three of Six NEC Scholar-Athlete Awards for 2018 Fall Season

In addition to stacking trophies, the Blue Devils hit the books hard in hard-hittin’ New Britain.

Central Connecticut is home to three of the NEC’s six Scholar-Athlete award winners from the 2018 fall season.

Angie Rafter (women’s cross country), Charlotte Maurer (women’s soccer) and Madelyn Kaprelya (volleyball) all brought some hardware back to Hardware City.

In addition to their academic exploits, the trio of Blue Devils helped their respective teams to plenty of athletic success this past fall.

Rafter led CCSU to its first NEC women’s XC team title since the turn of the millennium. Maurer and her mates carried a 17-game unbeaten streak into the 2018 NCAA Women’s College Cup Tournament. Kaprelya was a key contributor to a CCSU volleyball unit that posted a second-place finish in the NEC regular season standings.

The other Scholar-Athlete award recipients represented Wagner, Fairleigh Dickinson and Robert Morris.

FDU’s Ahu Obhakhan (men’s soccer) and RMU’s Adam Wollet (football) were repeat Scholar-Athlete winners while also earning Google Cloud CoSIDA Academic All-America honors. Jon Besselink brought the men’s cross country award to Grymes Hill after posting a fifth-place finish at the 2018 NEC Championships.

All six honorees carried a cumulative grade-point average no lower than 3.50.

See all six 2018 Fall NEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year below…



« Older Entries