#NECFB Week 7 Prep

#NECFB Briefs

  • Robert Morris will host cross-town rival Duquesne in the annual NEC Steel City Showdown, which kicks off Saturday at 6:00 pm ET on ESPN3. The host Colonials are permitting a league-low 162.0 passing yards per game while Duquesne’s aerial attack leads the NEC in yards per pass attempt (8.3), completion percentage (68.9) and touchdown passes (15).
  • Central Connecticut, which doubled up reigning Ivy League co-champion Penn in Week 6, has won three games in a row (all by double-digit margins) for the first time since 2010. The Blue Devils’ defense has totaled eight interceptions over the past three weeks while senior RB Cameron Nash has produced three consecutive 100-yard rushing performances.
  • Saint Francis has allowed league lows when it comes to opponents’ passing touchdowns (2) and yards per pass attempt (5.5). In Week 7, SFU visits Bryant, which owns the NEC’s top-ranked passing attack (354.2 ypg) for a game that can be seen live (for free) at NECFrontRow.com.
  • Sacred Heart closes its non-conference schedule with a home game against 4-and-0 Dartmouth. It’ll be the fourth matchup between the NEC and Ivy League this season (Ivy leads, 2-1).



SFU Punter Joins Elite Company Following Signature Win

The first two Red Flash to accomplish the feat were All-American honorees.

Andrew Zecca doesn’t own those lofty credentials, but there is no denying that the junior punter has been a factor in Saint Francis’ success this season.

Following an overly-efficient punting performance in a 13-7 road win over nationally-ranked Liberty, Zecca became the third Saint Francis athlete ever to earn the STATS FCS National Special Teams Player of the Week award. The other two recipients were SFU alumni Lorenzo Jerome and Lance Geesey.

Continue reading