#NECFB All-Time Team (20th Anniversary Edition)


The Northeast Conference’s season-long 20th anniversary celebration on the gridiron continued with the announcement of an All-Time Team presented by Task Force Security.

In an attempt to honor the men who made the first 20 years of NEC Football so memorable, the conference office devised a selection process aimed at naming the top players at each position from the league’s first two decades. The NEC unveiled the composition of the 27-member All-Time Team during Saturday’s “#NECFB on ESPN3” game between Sacred Heart and Robert Morris.

Active players were not eligible. Former players who failed to obtain at least two varsity letters during their NEC careers were not considered. It is important to remember that because the All-time Team was selected in a position-by-position manner, it does not necessarily include the “27 Greatest Players in NEC Football History.”

A Visual Breakdown of the All-time Team

Quarterback:  Tim Levcik, Robert Morris (1998-2001)

Running Back: Rick Sarille, Wagner (1996-99)

Running Back: Gary Jones, Albany (2002-03)

Receiver: Miles Austin, Monmouth (2002-05)

Receiver: Jordan Harris, Bryant (2010-13)

Receiver: Michael Caputo, Saint Francis (2003-06)

Tight End: John Nalbone, Monmouth (2005-08)

Offensive Line: Hank Fraley, Robert Morris (1996-99)

Offensive Line: Mark Leyenaar, Robert Morris (1998-2001)

Offensive Line: Geir Gudmundsen, Albany (2001-04)

Offensive Line: JT Herfurth, Albany (1999-2000)

Offensive Line: Ryne Nutt, Central Connecticut (2004-07)

Defensive Line: Jeff Covitz, Bryant (2011-14)

Defensive Line: Nolan Nearhoof, Robert Morris (2009-12)

Defensive Line: Ray Gensler, Robert Morris (2003-06)

Defensive Line: Steven Konopka, Central (1996-98)

Linebacker: Joe Sentipal, Monmouth (1999-2003)

Linebacker: Colin Disch, Albany (2004-07)

Linebacker: James Noel, Robert Morris (2002-05)

Linebacker: Kayode Mayowa, Sacred Heart (1999-2002)

Defensive Back: Chris Blackshear, Central Connecticut (2001-03)

Defensive Back: Al Phillips, Wagner (2004-07)

Defensive Back: Gordon Hill, Sacred Heart (2011-14)

Defensive Back: Serge Kona, Duquesne (2009-12)

Placekicker: Piotr Czech, Wagner (2004-07)

Punter: Nick Schirtzinger, Robert Morris (2007-10)

Return Specialist: Tyjuan Massey, Robert Morris (2002-05)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s