Official #NECFB Awards and All-League Picks Announced

The Northeast Conference used Twitter to unveil its 2014 football award winners and all-league teams.

Busy preparing his team for a NCAA FCS playoff game at Fordham on November 29, Sacred Heart’s Mark Nofri repeated as the NEC Coach of the Year. The Pioneers are 19-5 during the last two seasons under the third-year head coach.

The NEC Offensive Player of the Year award went to the leading rusher in the FCS. Saint Francis junior Khairi Dickson became only the second player in program history to earn the honor.

After finishing up a season during which he led the conference in tackles for a loss and broke the league’s all-time career sacks record, Bryant’s Jeff Covitz captured the NEC Defensive Player of the Year award.

Complementing Dickson in the NEC’s top-ranked rushing attack, SFU freshman Marcus Bagley earned the NEC Offensive Rookie of the Year honor.

The NEC Defensive Rookie of the Year accolade belong to Duquesne linebacker Nathan Stone. After preseason injuries depleted the Dukes’ linebacking corps, the Keystone State product stepped into a starting role and made 100 tackles.

Sacred Heart had a league-high 14 all-conference selections.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s