The Anatomy of a Shooter: Breaking Down Karvel Anderson’s Big Week

karvel_andersonYou knew another one of these nights was inevitable, but you didn’t know exactly when the heat check would arrive.

Well that night was last Thursday and unfortunately for host Sacred Heart, the Pioneers happened to be the opponent when Robert Morris senior guard Karvel Anderson (Elkhart, IN/Elkhart Memorial (Glen Oaks CC)) had one of those “can’t miss” type of games.

How hot was the Choice Hotels/NEC Player of the Week?

The Elkhart, IN native hit shots from every conceivable spot on the floor, making 15 of his 19 attempts, including 6-7 from three-point range for a career-high 36 points in a 79-70 win.

“I didn’t think I was going to have a night like this,” Anderson said.  “I didn’t even know I had that much.  I just wanted to be aggressive.  The way they defend…we knew that we’d be able to punch it into some gaps and I just wanted to be aggressive and finish at the rim.”

His shooting performance was so impressive that it reminded Sacred Heart head coach Anthony Latina of another explosive scorer who often turned heads at the Pitt Center.

“All I can say is that was a (former SHU star) Shane Gibson-like performance,” noted Latina.  “The only way you were going to stop him was to make someone else shoot and we didn’t do that.”

Anderson’s night gave a new meaning to the word efficiency.  Only two other Division I players this season have made at least 15 field goals in as few as 19 attempts from the field.

anderson-rmu-shooting

“Karvel is somebody who, if I didn’t coach him, I would root for him incredibly hard,” RMU head coach Andrew Toole said.  “I really admire the way he goes about his business, the way he handles himself, the way he prepares himself on and off the floor.  It’s a privilege to be able to coach him.”

How does this performance rank with some of Anderson’s other white-hot nights in his two years with RMU?  Judge for yourself.

Karvel’s Top-5 Shooting Performances
vs. Sacred Heart (1/9/14): 15-19, FG, 6-7 3PFG, 36 points
vs. Toledo (12/7/13): 9-11 FG, 5-6 3PFG, 23 points
vs. Texas Arlington (11/21/13): 8-11 FG, 8-10 3PFG, 24 points
at Ohio (12/1/12): 10-10 FG, 8-8 3PFG, 28 points
at Saint Francis U (1/24/13): 8-11 FG, 5-7 3PFG, 22 points

And he wasn’t done.

Anderson piled up 32 more points on Saturday in a 71-67 win at Bryant to give RMU a road sweep and leave the Elkhart, IN native with a ridiculous 34.0 ppg average on 64.3 percent shooting from the floor and 60.0 percent (12-20) from three-point range.

Anderson is currently shooting a scorching 52.8 percent from the floor and 47.7 percent from three-point range on the season.  He leads the NEC in both three-point accuracy and made trifectas (3.59/game), and ranks fourth in scoring (19.3) and field goal percentage.

“I wouldn’t say I have a green light to shoot at any time,” Anderson said. “I’d say that my coaches and my teammates have that confidence in me and if I am going to shoot, I feel like I’m going to make it.”

Leave a Reply

