NEC Teams Comprise 25 Percent of NCAA Bowling Championship Bracket; FDU & SHU Ready to Roll

Fewer than three weeks removed from their epic battle in the NEC Championship final, No. 2 Fairleigh Dickinson and No. 7 Sacred Heart will meet again in the Cleveland suburb of Wickliffe, OH.

With Freeway Lanes of Wickliffe, the nation’s largest bowling center, providing the backdrop, the 2012 NCAA Bowling Championships will unfold from April 12-14, and the perennial national powers who call the NEC home will be on hand to vie for collegiate bowling’s top prize.

Coming off its memorable 4-0 showing at the NEC Tournament, Sacred Heart returns to the NCAA Championships Field for the first time since 2008.  The Pioneers have been here four times prior, but have never managed to win it all.

FDU, however, has reached the pinnacle of NCAA Bowling twice in its history (2006, 2010).  The Knights, who have qualified for the national championship meet eight times in the event’s nine-year existence, have advanced through to the Final Four on seven occasions.

WATCH LIVE via – April 12-14



April 12         9 a.m.-1 p.m.; 3:30-7:30 p.m.
April 13         9 a.m.-1 p.m.; 3-7 p.m.
April 14         Playoff (Noon-2:10 p.m.)
April 14         Championship (8 p.m.)

The Knights and the Pioneers feature lineups that each contain not one, but, TWO NTCA All-American bowlers.

On the eve of the NCAA Championships’ start, FDU’s Danielle McEwan, the reigning two-time NEC Bowler of the Year, added yet another gem to her resume.  The NTCA named McEwan its NCAA Division I Bowler of the Year.  Meanwhile, FDU senior Joely Carrillo earned a spot on the NTCA All-America Third Team.

Sacred Heart anchor Jackie Carbonetto joined McEwan in receiving All-America First team accolades, while SHU sophomore Nicole Trudell gave Carrillo company on the Third Team.

Although NCAA Bowling currently holds a non-divisional status (teams are not classified through a divisional breakdown ie I, II, or II), the NTCA hands out two Bowler of the Year awards – one for teams whose athletic departments hold Division I status and one for teams whose athletics programs reside amongst the Division II/III ranks.

The reason for the explanation is simple.  The NEC is home to BOTH Bowlers of the Year.  While McEwan claimed the honor amongst those individual from Division I programs, Kutztown’s Kayla Jones earned the NTCA NCAA Division II/III Bowler of the Year award.  Jones also earned a place on the NTCA All-American Second Team (the NTCA’s All-American Teams are non-divisional).

Kutztown has been an associate member of the Northeast Conference since the league elevated bowling to championship sport status in 2008, and Jones claimed the inaugural NEC Bowler of the Year award in March 2009.

Video Vault
Here’s footage of Sacred Heart firing its NCAA practice round on Apr. 11…


2012 NTCA All-America Teams
First Team
Jackie Carbonetto, Sacred Heart, Jr., Blauvelt, NY
Rachel Gittings, Arkansas State, Jr. Glen Allen, Va.
Brittni Hamilton, Vanderbilt, Senior, Webster, NY
Kayla Johnson, Nebraska, Senior, Washington, Ill.
Danielle McEwan, Fairleigh Dickinson, Junior, Stony Point, NY

Second Team
Jessica Earnest, Vanderbilt, Junior, Vandalia, IL
Natalie Jimenez, Central Missouri, Junior, Rowland Heights, CA
Kayla Jones, Kutztown, Senior, Johnstown, Pa.
Amanda Lobossiere, Arkansas State, Sophomore, Buzzards Bay, Mass.
Kayla Richard, Central Missouri, Sophomore, Tecumseh, Mich. 

Third Team
Joely Carrillo, Fairleigh Dickinson, Senior,Clifton, NJ
T’nia Falbo, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Junior, Greensburg, Pa.
Sarah Lokker, Arkansas State, Freshman, New Baltimore, Mich.
Kristina Mickelson, Nebraska, Junior, Bellevue, Neb.
Nicole Trudell, Sacred Heart, Sophomore, Coventry, RI  

Honorable Mention
Valarie Calberry, Nebraska
Natalie Cortese, Valparaiso
Melanie DeCarlo, Alabama A&M
Dayna Galganski, Sam Houston State
Samantha Hesley, Vanderbilt
Christina Leid, St. Francis (Pa)
Gabriella Mayfield, Central Missouri
Danielle Merino, Adelphi
Nicole Parkhurst, Stephen F. Austin
Michelle Secours, Sam Houston State 

Players of the Year
Division I          Danielle McEwan, Fairleigh Dickinson
Division II/III     Kayla Jones, Kutztown

Rookies of the Year
Division I          Sarah Lokker, Arkansas State, Freshman, New Baltimore, Mich.
Division II/III      Gabriella Mayfield, Central Missouri, Fr., Lake Isabella, Calif.

Coach of the Year
Division I         Justin Kostick, Arkansas State
Division II/III     Ron Holmes, Central Missouri

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s