NEC Keglers Make for Good Times in Reading, PA

It was a huge weekend of bowling in the Northeast Conference, and if you missed it, you have A LOT of catching up to do.

Six of America’s top-20 teams contested the eight-team field at the fourth annual NEC Championships.  The No. 18 team in the nation, Saint Francis (PA), wasn’t even permitted to take part in the festivities since they finished ninth in the NEC regular season standings. 

It’s not a surprise that such a high-quality team would have such a low finish in the NEC.  After all, there are no cupcakes on the conference schedule.  In 2010, Fairleigh Dickinson won the NCAA national championship after finishing fifth in the NEC regular season standings with a 7-7 league record.

Speaking of FDU, Michael LoPresti’s team carried the No .1 seed along with the National No. 1 ranking, into NEC Tournament play, but it was Sacred Heart, which left Bowl-O-Rama a winner.

Sacred Heart, which held the No. 2 ranking in the nation before slipping to the No. 8 spot in the latest edition of the NTCA Top 20 Coaches’ Poll, was firing on all cylinders this past weekend in Reading, PA.  The Pioneers went a perfect 4-0, including 2-0 vs. FDU, to claim their second NEC Tournament crown.

SHU’s fourth, and final, victory, however, did not come easy as the Pioneers and FDU Knights battled in another epic NEC Tournament title tilt.  NEC Bowling fans may remember, it was these two teams who met in the 2010 final and needed a modified baker roll-off tiebreaker to decide a champion.


In the end, Sacred Heart recovered from squandering a 3-0 lead in the best-of-seven baker series and took the deciding Game 7 to achieve NEC supremacy and pad their NCAA Selection resume in the process.

Here’s how that final match unfolded…


In addition to crowning a champion, the NEC also unveiled its postseason award winners and All-NEC Teams this past weekend at Bowl-O-Rama.

FDU came away the big winner in Saturday’s midday awards presentation.  FDU anchor Danielle McEwan made it back-to-back NEC Bowler of the Year honors, while Michael LoPresti snagged the Coach of the Year award for the second year in a row.

Thanks to freshman Christina Leid, Saint Francis (PA) did have a presence of sorts at Bowl-O-Rama on Saturday.  The NEC named the Keystone State product its 2012 Rookie of the Year.


Here’s the complete list of 2012 All-NEC honors…


Mark Your Calendars Bowling Fans!

NCAA Bowling Selection Show on Wed., March 28 at 4:00 pm EST

NEC All-Tournament Team due out on Thursday, March 29

Click here to watch the NCAA Bowling Selection Show LIVE.

– Mar. 28, 2012 –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s